Fitness With Alexa Jean Brown

Maintaining a fitness routine in my forties has been rocky. In my twenty’s, due to Ms. Fitness competitions, I spent hours in the gym only turn right around the next day and do it again. In my thirties, I decided to step it up a notch and start running long distances. I competed in half marathons, full marathon and, even went out on a limb and, tried a mini triathlon. When I turned forty, I did not have a fitness goal or anything to work towards. I have accomplished all that I set out to do. I have tried almost every type of workout from spinning, to kettlebell and boot camp classes. I even took a stab at CrossFit. While I enjoy each of those workouts after a while I get bored and have to move on to something else. So last year I took a break from running competitively, I quite the gym and worked out at home when I felt like it. Working out without a goal, for me, did not work. I felt lost. I discussed my lack luster fitness drive to my sister, Jennifer, and she mentioned that I should try a monthly workout challenge like Alexa Jean Brown’s workouts.

Jennifer found Alexa Brown on a random stroll through Instagram.  My sister is a stay at home mom with two young boys and a gym membership is not in the cards for her. She was looking for a workout in which you did not need a lot of equipment and could complete at home. Alexa brings a fresh new routine every day.

If you are not familiar with Alexa Jean’s fitness routines: here is the skinny

  • Alexa Jean started her workout program to motivate busy parents.
  • Her workouts are for a beginner to advance depending on your fitness level.
  • Each of Alexa’s workouts targets different muscle groups.
  • You can get started as soon as you buy the program that fits you.  You can access them immediately from any device anywhere.
ajbphoto

Sample Workout

I just completed my first month with a arms/back challenge. I did add and cut a few things to my workouts. For instance, I added 5 min on the treadmill as a warm-up and a short sprint in between each exercise. I also incorporated 100 squats each day. Alexa suggests to rest 1 minuet between each exercise. I only rest for 30 seconds.

Fit1

Warm- Up

 

Fit2

Bicep time- Delilah says my arms look huge.

 

Currently, Alexa’s workouts have been perfect for me. I am not spending hours in the gym, and I am not board.

I am always up for fitness suggestions so please let me know what fitness routines work for you.

As Always,

Melissa Gayle

 

2 thoughts on “Fitness With Alexa Jean Brown

  1. You look fabulous! I work out 6-7 times a week. I train with my trainer and he gives me my assignments. I love weight lifting, kettle bells and any crazy type workouts, those inspire me. I think everyone needs to find what works best for them. I tried several different things before I ended up with my trainer and the focus he gives me on strengthening is what resonates with me. Keeps me going and motivated. Here’s to strong workouts!

    Like

    • thehouseofhazel says:

      I would love more than anything to be able to work out 6-7 times a week. I just do not have the energy like I did before. Maybe it is age, who knows. I think having a trainer is for the best. They push you beyond your mindset 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

