5 Lessons I’ve Learned From The Battlefield: Mom Life Lessons

In honor of Mother’s Day I thought it is only appropriate to give you lessons I have learned since taking on the role of a Mom. {I use the term Battlefield, humorously, in title because let’s face it being a Mom can be a blood sport. }

Life is not all about ME-  Honestly, before having kids, I was under the impression the world revolved around me.  I am not sure why that is, because my parents did not raise me that way.  In fact, that was a battle that was constantly fought in our house. Needless to say, as soon as I became a mom my focus changed, and life is about my littles who I lovingly call Delilah & Lucy. Being a mom is sometimes a thankless position, but honestly that is OK.  Knowing the girls are growing up as bright, kind and sweet young women makes all those bad mom days well worth it.

Make time for yourself -I know you are thinking I am talking out of both sides of my mouth.  Seriously, making time for myself has been a life saver. for Lucy anyways Whether that is 10 minutes to myself to read my daily devotion, making time to work out or just a little pampering these quiet moments in life are good for my soul.  Everyone deserves a little down time.

DSC_4553B&W

Photo Cred: Christina Barnum

It is OK not being your daughter’s BFF- When Delilah was 4 she said to me, “Mom you are my bestest friend.” I looked at her smiled and said, “while I would love to be your bestest friend, I cannot.”   I explained best friends get all the perks of doing fun stuff together, but they will never discipline. There will be times in life when I will have to discipline. Of course the conversation was more than those two sentences, but what Delilah did not know was it broke my heart to tell her this.  I wanted so badly to just say that sounds great, and treat her like my best friend.  I would hope that although I can not be their best friend; I can still be a Mom who will listen to them no matter what they are about to tell me.

IMG_0838

Choose you’re Battles– Some parents live by this rule while others spin their wheels arguing over nothing.  When I was in middle school my mom and I would argue almost daily over my clothes.  I will never forgot my Dad saying, we have a new rule: let her wear what she wants and if kids make fun of her then let them and she will learn a lesson.  I think it probably got a rise out of my mom that I was smirking in the corner behind my Dad. Honestly, it was not about the clothes it was more about letting me be a independent thinker.  The lesson learned from that battle is you have to let your kids have some say so in their lives. I want to raise independent and self-sufficient thinkers.  By letting go not to sound like the movie Tangled of some of those battles you find your relationships improving and insuring a calm household.

Do not compare yourself to other moms- what works for your household may not work for my household.  It is easy to get sucked into comparing your mom skills to other moms. In the end all of us moms are in the same boat.  We are all trying to figure out how to make it through each day without letting our kids know we don’t really know what we are doing.  We are all on a wing and a prayer.

To my own mom (K.C.)- While I did not make parenting easy I sure made it fun and exciting. I will never be able to thank you enough for how amazing you were and are.  I love you more than I can write.

If you have Mom battlefield lessons please share. Maybe you have a favorite Mom/Daughter photo, I would love for you to share it.  I hope you all have an amazing Mother’s Day.

As Always,

Melissa Gayle

 

4 thoughts on “5 Lessons I’ve Learned From The Battlefield: Mom Life Lessons

  1. Good, beautiful and true says:

    Love this post. You summed up so much of what it means to be a mom. Your kids are lucky to have. Looking forward to reading more. You have found a new follower:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • thehouseofhazel says:

      Well let me officially welcome you to The House of Hazel. I live a crazy, fun and most entertaining life full of life lessons. I am so honored that you are now a full time reader and friend. I look forward to reading your comments as we get to know each other.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

